Why you and I need to start living up to our potential

What are your first thoughts after you wake up every day? … Before you go to sleep at night?

Are your thoughts consistently the same day after day.. month after month.. year after year? Do they change? Are they peaceful? Are they loud? Are they annoying? Are they happy? Are they sad? Are they challenging?

You know, it wasn’t until now that I have deeply thought about this in particular. To be quite honest, I used to wake up everyday and was already looking forward to getting ready to go to bed again for the next day. And you know what, sadly, I still do.

Although, what is different now than before is that I want a change. I want to wake up and look forward to the journey of that day before resting for the next day again. I want to be able to really experience and enjoy the day to the most absolute fullest that I possibly and humanly can before closing my eyes, plopping my head on my pillow and snoozing off for another exciting and fulfilled day.

That is when I realized that I really need to start living up to my potential and you should too. Let me tell you what “living up to your potential” means to me.

We grow up in a very structured and routine society where very often than not we are told what is right, what is wrong, what is good, what is bad, what you should look like, what you should not look like, what is rich, what is poor etc. Fair enough, I understand that we are exposed to these standards, if you want to call it that, because there needs to be some sort of foundation of morals and values instilled in everyone. I get it, even though I still have my own opinions about it.

On the other hand, this type of society creates robots. It encourages people to act and think one way and if you do otherwise, it isn’t “normal”. What’s “normal” anyways?

Hear me out, we live in a world comprised of 7.4 billion people. You are ONE out of 7.4 billion people. There are 7.4 billion different people with different views, different experiences, different values, different morals, different beliefs, different body types, different features, different families, different … should I keep going? Essentially, what I am trying to say is there are 7.4 billion realities. So.. how do we classify “normal” amongst 7.4 billion people? We can’t. There is no normal. You have your own reality on how you see the world. Do you know the reality of the rest of earth? Heck, you probably don’t even completely understand the reality of your own mother.

That’s the point though. Everyone views the world from their own little bubble. You and your friend can be sitting on your couch looking out the window and I can guarantee you both will be seeing and thinking 2 different things.

So, how is everyone able to live up to their potential while living in a society that tries to tell them that their reality is incorrect? I can imagine that to be pretty difficult. 

I’ll tell you what society has done to me. I wake up everyday and shrug because I have to get ready and go to work, come home, eat, sleep, and do it all over again. Is it because I hate work and the people I work with? No, because I feel the same way on the days I don’t have to go to work as well. So, it must be because I hate my family? Definitely not lol. But do I wish that I am able to wake up in the morning and get excited about what I am going to be doing for the next 12 hours without the worry of being judged, criticized and not being able to pay off my bills? Heck yeah.

As much as I agree with the truth that yes, you can do whatever it is you set your mind to, but it comes with so much unnecessary obstacles of societal pressure in my opinion. I love challenge, so don’t get me wrong and think that I want the journey through life to be a breeze, absolutely not.

I just hope that people will start to accept other people’s realities for what they are, and that is when everyone can truly start living up to their potential.

As for me. I know that I need to make drastic changes in order to see an improvement on the quality of life that I am living. I need to be able discard the imposing thoughts and opinions of other individuals in order to truly and honestly start living my life, because that is the sole reason why I believe I am on this earth – is to live a fulfilled life with what I have.

So, if you wake up everyday and are already excited about bed time, maybe you should rethink your reality and what you want for yourself and your existence before you rest 6 feet under regretting the life you lived.

Mwah! xo

 

Leave a Reply

