Finally started practicing! – Backyard winter photoshoot

Bonjour, bonjour, bonjour helloooooo peeps! Hope you’re all dandy 🙂

So, I have been meaning for the LONGEST time to start learning how to shoot in manual mode on my Canon Rebel XS I know it is a prettyyyy old one, but hey, better than not having one right? Plus cameras are so incredibly pricey these days geeeeeez. Until I learn how to shoot really well, I am not going to even THINK about buying another one.

Anyways, a friend of mine recently taught me the basics on IOS, F-stop, shutter speed and lighting in order to give me a better understand on how they all affect each other when shooting. Muchas gracias if you’re reading this! 🙂 If you live in the GTA (Brampton, Mississauga, Toronto etc) and are looking to book a maternity, wedding, corporate, or family photoshoot – you can check out his website: www.thefreelancers.ca

It actually takes a lot of work and knowledge to take really good photos and that is why I have always appreciated photography. Some people think you just pick up a camera and click, click, click. Naaaah it is a lot more than that. So to all my photographers out there, much love and respect!

But yeah. This was my very first time shooting manual with all the information I was able to retain and the pictures are probabblyyyy not that great at all LOL but hey, I had tons of fun and learned lots!

Here are some of my favourite shots! It sucks how much clarity the picture loses when I upload it onto here 😦

img_8289img_8299img_8303img_8305

img_8317

Whoever has watched Twilight… tell me this does not give you the Twilight feels LOL

img_83261

Canada goose should sponsor me for this picture

img_83271

Hope you all enjoyed! To be honest, it took me QUITE some time playing around with all the settings in order to get these shots because the sun was so damn bright. I can’t wait to get to the point where I know exactly what settings to use in any lighting condition that I am presented with. 

I always have to squeeze in a meaningful quote in my posts haha so today’s is – just go out and do whatever you enjoy and are passionate about. For a very long time, I have wanted to start learning and practicing photography but kind of just kept brushing it off. Taking these pictures brought me so much joy. It gave me so many ideas for future shoots and mistakes that I could learn from – I loved every second of it. From walking to the location, to telling my sisters how to stand/position themselves, to deleting the many horrible pictures but smiling at the 1 great one, to finally uploading and editing them on my computer – each step was so exciting for me. I probably sound silly and overly cheesy but it is truly an amazing feeling!

Alright, no more blabbing. Hope you all are doing amazing and out there grinding and working hard towards what you love.

Mwah! xo

Leave a Reply

