What is “happiness”?

I think a lot of people come across this question at some point in their life, “How do I be happy?”, “What is true happiness?”.

Well, to be honest, I wish I had the answer, as does every one else to be honest. First and foremost, I think happiness is unique to everyone. Everyone defines happiness in a different way. Some define happiness as having their career in the right direction. Some define it as being able to travel around the world. Some define it as being with their significant other. Some define it as simple as being able to have a meal. As you can see, everyone comes from a different walk of life, therefore leading to different forms of happiness.

It’s a simple word to say, but there’s so much more meaning under it. For example, you are happy you get to travel around the world. Okay. Well, what if something restricts you from travelling. Is your happiness gone? Or what if you and your significant other aren’t together anymore? What happens to your happiness? I guess what I’m trying to get at is I feel that people only look at the surface of happiness. We live in a life where things are always go go go non stop. You really have no time to stop, breathe, and just enjoy the life you are given. Because of this lifestyle, I believe that many of us has forgotten how to truly be happy. We’re so caught up pleasing our bosses, our significant other, our parents, our siblings, our peers, our teachers, our best friends, our society that we totally forget about ourselves.

Personally, I’m 100% guilty of everything I just typed, because well like my blog suggest, who’s perfect right? Although I’ve been really trying to get more in touch with myself – what makes me happy? what makes me angry? what makes me frustrated? what makes me sad? what makes me frustrated?. These aspects of yourself are so important. Without really knowing who you truly are – you can’t accept yourself 100%.

Okay, I’m getting a little off track here, haha. But I guess what I’m trying to say is more people need to be in tune with themselves in order to be truly happy. Of course it’s awesome to be happy because you’re able to travel, or you have a significant other, or your career is going great – BUT I think the test to true happiness is when all those external factors are gone. As some famous quotes can attest to this concept – “If you’re unable to be happy with yourself, you will not be able to give happiness to some one else”. Okay, I don’t know if that’s the exact quote, but you know what I mean.

One of my goals in life currently is to be able to experience true happiness with myself. It is definitely not the easiest journey, I know, but in the end, it’ll be worth it.

I hope your journey to true happiness is a beautiful one! Sending tons of love and positive thoughts towards you!

 

Leave a Reply

